IAS Exam Pattern

IAS is acronym for Indian Administrative Services. IAS is top highest administrative post in India which is offered by Indian govt. Indian govt. selects candidates for IAS post by conducting a recruitment procedure. As, IAS is one of top post in Indian govt. recruitment exams for this post are toughest and competitive exam. Lacs of candidates applied for this every year but only few of them got selected. Before applying for this post, candidates must have complete information about criteria and curriculum for IAS post. There are many posts for Indian govt. and each has different syllabus. IAS syllabus is also different from other posts in the Indian govt. Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) has the proper authority to conduct this exam.

Candidates, who are interested for this post, will get the IAS syllabus on the official website of UPSC. Before having syllabus for IAS post, candidates must have information about recruitment procedure.

Recruitment procedure for IAS has three phases, which are:

  • Phase 1: IAS preliminary exam which is also called IAS aptitude test
  • Phase 2: IAS mains exam
  • Phase 3: personality or interview exam

Exam pattern for IAS phases are discussed below:

Phase 1: IAS preliminary exam pattern

  • In IAS, all exams will have objective type questions with four options and candidates will have to choose the correct one.
  • For every wrong answer, 1 /4th marks will be deducted.
  • Question paper of IAS will be in bilingual it means candidates will be able to read questions in both Hindi and English language.
  • There are two papers in IAS prelims, one is paper 1 and other is paper 2. Paper 1 is based on general ability test and consist 200 questions while paper 2 also has 200 questions which are based on English language and aptitude.
  • Duration of IAS prelims exam is 2 hours for each paper.
  • Marks obtained in paper 1 will be added to merit list of IAS while marks of paper 2 will not be counted but candidate have to qualify both papers atleast scoring 33 % marks in each paper.

Phase 2: IAS mains exam pattern

  • There are 9 papers in IAS exam out of which 2 are qualifying papers. Candidates, who will clear paper 1 and paper 2, will be eligible for next 7 papers.
  • Question will be of objective type and subjective type and each paper consist 250 marks.
  • Marks obtained in paper 1 and 2 will not added in merit list
  • Question paper will be bilingual in nature and candidate will get 3 hours to complete the exam.
Interesting Blog -   Time for students to Discover Outstanding Art of Writing Paper

Phase 3: personality or interview exam

Interview round of IAS will consist 275 marks and candidates have to secure atleast 55 % marks in this round.

Syllabus for IAS phases is discussed below:

Phase 1: IAS preliminary syllabus

Paper 1- History of India and Indian National Movement, Current events of national and international importance,Political System,Indian Polity and Governance Constitution,Public Policy, and Rights Issues, Economic and Social Development-Social Sector Initiatives and General issues on Environmental ecology, Inclusion, Demographics,Sustainable Development, Poverty, Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World, Bio- diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization and General Science.

Paper 2- Decision-making and problem-solving, Comprehension, Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level), Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), General mental ability, Logical reasoning and analytical ability.

Phase 2: IAS mains syllabus

Paper 1- Essay writing

Paper 2- General Studies I Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society

Paper 3- General Studies II Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations

Paper 4- General Studies III Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management

Paper 5- General Studies IV Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude

Paper 6- Optional Subject – Paper 1 (Agriculture, Civil Engineering, Commerce and Accountancy, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science, Geography, Geology, Anthropology, Botany, Chemistry, Economics, Electrical Engineering, History, Law, Medical Science, Philosophy, Management, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Public Administration, Sociology, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Statistics and Zoology)

Paper 7- Optional Subject – Paper 2 (Literature of any one of the following languages: Assamese, Bengali, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Telugu, Urdu and English Manipuri, Marathi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil).

Phase 3: IAS Interview

  • Candidates, who will qualify both prelims exam and main exam, will be called for interview round.
  • If candidates want to secure their post in Indian govt. they must have to do hard preparation for clearing this round and have to score at-least 55 % marks in this round.
  • Candidates have the option to choose language in which they want to give answer and all questions will be based on the all general interest, religion, politics, society and leadership.

For more information, visit


Tags : IAS Exam Pattern